NRT Entertainment Group™



Mike Alvarez. Photo by Rod Rolle.


Mike Alvarez was one of the first Hollywood-based producers to see the merits and possibilities of producing movies in NW Louisiana before the tax credit programs of the State became an incentive for Hollywood producers and long before the disaster of Hurricane Katrina forced Louisiana production to move from New Orleans to the NW Louisiana region. Since 2002, Mr. Alvarez has built an impressive network of Louisiana government and business leaders, Hollywood producers, directors, actors, distribution deal makers and more. Mr. Alvarez is serving as the key producer for 4HG's first three film productions - Anybody Love, The Formula and The Greatest Escape , with The Greatest Escape currently in production. The Greatest Escape stars Academy Award winning actor Lou Gossett, Jr. and seasoned Disney actress, Caitlin Wachs (My Dog Skip, Inspector Gadget 2, etc.)


Alvarez served as a Federal Bank Examiner out of his first stint of college at The University of Texas at Austin, in 1980, for the Department of the U.S. Treasury.

In 1988, Alvarez relocated to Los Angeles to serve briefly as an in-house music producer for the famed music-recording studio Paramount Recording Studios. A year later, Alvarez went to work at The Sony Video Institute, a world leading audio/video production training facility located on The American Film Institute campus in Hollywood California .

In 1995 Alvarez began working in television as an audio professional working for NBC, ABC, CNN and many other cable networks.


Currently, in addition to heading the development and production of feature film projects and working as a professional television audio technician, Alvarez continues producing his own and others' independent music, music related documentaries and music videos for the NRT catalogue.


Mr. Alvarez was born in the Chicago area and raised in Texas . He attended The University of Texas at Austin from 1978 to 1983 and received his B. S. in Business Management from Pepperdine University in Malibu, California, in 1994.